Book Review: Me Before You by Jojo Meyes




About The Book: 

They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . .

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.


Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.


A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our StarsMe Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?



About The Author: 

Jojo Moyes is the New York Times bestselling author of After You, Me Before YouOne Plus OneThe Girl You Left BehindThe Last Letter from Your LoverSilver BayThe Ship of Brides and Honeymoon in Paris.  She lives with her husband and three children in Essex, England.

The Review: 

Even though I read this book a long time ago, I never got around to reviewing it. This was the story of Louisa Clark and Will Traynor, who meet each other in less than likely circumstances and who eventually become star-crossed lovers. The story at its heart is about two people who used to be extremely different before the other came into their lives.

Will Traynor was a successful young man, who was heir to his parents’ wealth. He had a good life and he was living every moment of it, until an unhappy incident.

Louisa Clark on the other hand loses her job at the bakery where she worked for six years. She has to find another job immediately because her family needs the financial support she provides them. It is then that she comes into Will Traynor’s life.

What I particularly loved about this novel is how the characters slowly become better versions of themselves. Of course, it’s not an easy journey – but we realize that the most difficult of journeys are the ones which are memorable.

I remember having read the book in one sitting and crying my eyes out. If you have read the book, you’d know what I am talking about. If not, I would highly recommend curling up with this on a Friday night when you choose to be indoors, instead of out partying with your friends.

I would like to add here that I had gone to watch this movie by myself last year, because no one was interested in it. I was pleased to see how loyal the movie had stayed to the book. It had made me incredibly happy.


Jojo Meyes wrote a heartfelt story and I think about Will and Louisa often. These are characters which haunt you, even after the story is long over. 


3 comments:

  1. Hi,

    While i think you have written about how this book has made you feel, and the general background of the characters in the lead... I seriously think this review lacks a lot. And I sincerely hope that you take this as a constructive criticism from another reader of the same book.
    This novel has so many intrucate details and conflicting emotions, that this review doesn't do justice to. What about the turmoil, the desperate mother, the idea of living life from different characters, the delicate topic of euthanasia..

    And exactly how the characters became better versions of themselves, the readers need a peek into that, in my opinion.

    There's a hell lot going on in this book.. I read the book, then watched the movie too.. Even thinking to review this book is a big thing, yet,
    I truly think the review could have been a lot better.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. And that is the problem when you review the books after over a year of reading them. :) You forget a lot of things that happened and the only thing you remember is how the book made you feel. Hence, my review only focuses on how I felt. But your point has been duly noted. The solution to which I see that I have to review books right after I finish reading them. Or else it isn't possible to remember everything. :)

      Delete